Pearl Drums
Twitter Facebook YouTube Google Plus Instagram

Pearl News

28 Jun

Trivium Gears up for Album Release

Trivium will release their new album, "In Waves", on August 9 via Roadrunner Records. The follow-up to 2008's "Shogun" was recorded at Paint It Black Studios in Orlando, Florida with the production/mixing team of Colin Richardson (Bullet for my Valentine, Slipknot, Fear Factory) and Martin "Ginge" Ford, along with engineer Carl Bown.

About the album vocalist/guitarist Matt Heafy says, "'In Waves' to us is Trivium. 'In Waves' is the music, the artwork, the videos and the live show; they are all part of an interconnected whole. There's no question about it, in our eyes, that this is the most complete project we¹ve ever done. We think we¹ve finally made the record that we¹ve always strived to make."

The album features the guitar-driven edge that fans have come to love and expect from the band pushing some of the tracks even further in their heaviness and aggression, but the visual and lyrical world that "In Waves" inhabits is overall a fantastic leap forward for the band. Inspired as much by contemporary film and visual art as by the band¹s love of heavy music, all of the imagery, including album art, videos, stage sets and web properties take Trivium into territory that few bands have the confidence, or vision, to visit. The visuals create the special world of In Waves where the entire album package will take the listener on a journey where the destination may not have even been decided yet, much less known. It's a wide, open road and one littered with darkness and other curiosities. The visual project was collaborative effort between the band and a team of select artists. The band and their artists created a new, unique and wholly original set of visuals that are like a graphic novel come to life.

There is a unifying theme to "In Waves", but it's not a concept album by any means. Heafy continued, "The album is not a concept record, but there is a certain theme to all of the visuals and sonically and visually it all ties together. We are very proud of what we¹ve accomplished with 'In Waves' and we are excited to share it with everyone."

The video for "In Waves", the first release and title track for Trivium's new album, can be seen below.

"In Waves" track listing:

01. Capsizing The Sea
02. In Waves
03. Inception Of The End
04. Watch The World Burn
05. Dusk Dismantled
06. Black
07. Built To Fall
08. Caustic Are the Ties That Bind
09. A Skyline's Severance
10. Forsake Not the Dream
11. Chaos Reigns
12. Of All These Yesterdays
13. Leaving This World Behind

A two-disc special edition will also be available. It features five bonus tracks, plus a DVD with a 40-minute, behind-the-scenes documentary, as well as an exclusive concert filmed in a warehouse located in Orlando, Florida, which is the band's stomping grounds. This concert features the first performances of tracks from "In Waves", along with TRIVIUM classics.

"In Waves" special edition track listing:

01. Capsizing the Sea
02. In Waves
03. Inception of the End
04. Dusk Dismantled
05. Watch the World Burn
06. Black
07. A Skyline's Severance
08. Ensnare the Sun*
09. Built To Fall
10. Caustic Are the Ties That Bind
11. Forsake Not the Dream
12. Drowning In Slow Motion*
13. A Grey So Dark*
14. Chaos Reigns
15. Of All These Yesterdays
16. Leaving This World Behind
17. Shattering The Skies Above*
18. Slave New World*

*Bonus tracks

Bonus DVD includes:

* In Waves (Live)
* In Waves (Documentary)
* "In Waves" Music Video

The band will spend the summer on their second go-round at the Rockstar Energy Drink Mayhem Festival. The band will leave the Mayhem Festival for a few days to play two very special European album-release shows - Friday, August 5 on the main stage at the legendary Wacken Open Air festival, and Saturday, August 6 as special guest to Iron Maiden at the O2 Arena in London. For more information on Trivium, be sure to visit them online at Also be sure to keep checking back to for news and information on Trivium drummer, Nick Augusto, and the new Reference Pure kit that he will debut during this summer's Mayhem Festival.